Malicious Google Docs email messages
If you received a message like the one below, DO NOT click any links or reply to the message.
KU Information Technology staff have received news that Google has disabled the fake “Google Docs” application and is removing it from affected Gmail users’ accounts.
Clicking the link allowed a malicious website to send this spam message to everyone in your Gmail contact list. Additionally, if you clicked “allow” when the malicious website asked for permissions to your Google account, the site installed an app named “Google Docs” in your Google account that granted the attackers access to ALL of your Gmail messages and contacts.
IF YOU CLICKED THE LINK, YOUR GOOGLE ACCOUNT MAY BE COMPROMISED. Go to https://myaccount.google.com/security#connectedapps to see which apps have been granted permission to use your account. If you see “Google Docs” in the list of permitted apps, remove it immediately.
KU IT strongly recommends that you also reset your Google Account password, and enable two step verification for your Google account if you have not already done so.
Please remember that any time you receive suspicious messages to your KU email account to forward them to email@example.com without clicking any links or opening any attachments.