Update to KU’s email sync service prompts alert message on mobile devices
On Thursday, June 18, we made a change to the service that allows KU students, faculty and staff to synchronize their KU email and calendars to smartphones and other mobile devices. This change is required as part of an upgrade that will support future email enhancements, new device management solutions, new applications and future services at KU.
After this required change, most people who get their KU email and calendar on a mobile device will receive an alert message with the terms of service and features that can be managed remotely, if authorized. The alert message varies on different mobile devices and operating systems, and may include:
- Set password rules
- Lock the screen
- Erase all data
- Set storage encryption
- and more (varies by device)
To continue using this service to get KU email and calendar on their mobile devices, customers will need to accept the terms of service. The remote access controls mentioned are typically used where organizations provide company-owned mobile devices to their employees. KU has not activated these settings for faculty, staff and student personal devices.
Customers who choose not to accept the terms of service, can go to technology.ku.edu/email for other options to access KU email and calendar on mobile devices.
Additional details on this change, including the benefits, are below. If you have questions or concerns, please contact the KU IT Customer Service Center at 785-864-8080 or email@example.com.
- KU cannot see what applications are installed on the device, how/when they are used, etc.
- KU cannot see text messages unless the user syncs them to the server (this is not common or the default).
- KU cannot see call data, web traffic, app traffic or any other device use statistics.
- KU cannot see location even if location services are enabled.
- KU can see the IP address assigned to the device by the phone carrier. This is needed in order to deliver traffic to the device.
- Other than email messages, contacts and calendar entries created by the user, no data from the device is uploaded to the servers.